September 1, 2013 (First P-day in Japan)

Japan, he has ARRIVED!!!  Yes, Elder G arrived safe and sound to Japan.  He did call Mom on the 27th from the SLC airport for about 20 minutes.  Ma said he sounded good and really excited.  Also, she said that he was worried about the time change a little and was a little worried about customs.  But, obviously, he figured it out because here is the first email from the field.  I was thrilled to hear that he is doing so well.

“Hey everyone, well here is my first preparation day in Nihon.  So obviously I made it safe to the country.  My flight from Seattle was way too long though, something like ten hours and I didn’t stand the entire time so I was quite stiff and sore when we landed.  The best part of the flight was getting to see Mount Fuji from the air as we went past.  I forgot to get me camera out and snap a photo though.  I was kicking myself for the rest of the flight.  But, it was truly amazing!  Immigration at the airport took forever!  SO we were late getting out and meeting Zinke かいちょ and Zinke しまい and the assistants.  It was about an hour from the Osaka airport to the mission home and due to the large number that were arriving, we had to take a bus.  

Mt Fuji.  Its so cool that he saw it in person!

Mt Fuji. Its so cool that he saw it in person!

We stayed at the home for two nights.  The food was so awesome; it was definitely so good to have a home cooked meal for two days.  All the Elders stayed at the apartment with the assistants, so it was pretty crowded on the floors with all the futons.  Sleeping on a futon is pretty comfy.  I might have to get one when I get home cause I’ll get super used to it here.  I didn’t really sleep on the plane so when I arrived I was going on 3 1/2 hours of sleep.  I was gone before my head even hit the pillow literally.  And since I’ve arrived here, sleeping is not something I’ve struggled with.  

Lots and lots of training went on in the first day.  I will be receiving intensive training over the next two transfers, but training on the 29th (Japan Standard Time) was awesome!  I got another set of tags, so now I have three sets.  We were given a black binder which supplements the white handbook, so there is a lot of rules and stuff to remember for this mission.  Another cool thing that I learned is that the Kobe Mission is striving to be run purely on revelation from a story our president told us about when the mission was under leadership of President Kaicho.  The president prays to know how many elect and righteous people are ready to hear the gospel, and God inspires an answer.  It is awesome!  Definitely an “Ask and you shall receive” moment.  But I find it absolutely amazing that we are striving for true revelation and discipleship here in Kobe.  

Dowtown Kyoto which is part of Elder G's first area

Dowtown Kyoto which is part of Elder G’s first area

I have two trainers.  My current one is Elder Nelson.  I currently have two because it is Elder Nelson last transfer-he will be headed home soon.  My first area is Katsura which is in Kyoto; our apartment is on the outskirts of the city, but I believe downtown Kyoto is including in our area.  It is pretty big and it is just our companionship here so we have a lot of work to do to find the amount of elect ready at this moment.  We have an investigator who we taught on Sunday and we are teaching him again tomorrow, so I am starting right in.  

Elder G with his trainer outside of the Kobe mission home

Elder G with his trainer outside of the Kobe mission home

Elder G with President and Sister Zinke

Elder G with President and Sister Zinke

Here is a map of the Kobe Japan Misison.  His first area of Katsura is marked in green.

Here is a map of the Kobe Japan Misison. His first area of Katsura is marked in green.

Here is what takayoki looks like.  I'm guessing the squiggles are the tentacles of the octopus?

Here is what takayoki looks like. I’m guessing the squiggles are the tentacles of the octopus?

The food is not too bad.  I think I like takayoki which is octopus, dun dun dun.  WE have been getting a lot of rain, in fact it is pouring right now as I’m writing this.  Its hot and humid, but thats nothing new to this Nebraska boy.  Well, gtg.  I’ll try to send pics next week.”

  • かいちょ is President
  • しまい is Sister
  • せんきょし is missionaries
  • ちょろたち is Elders
Leave a Reply

